2022 Caribbean Series FAQ

2022 Caribbean Series FAQ

The annual Caribbean Series begins on Friday in the Dominican Republic, with six countries set to vie for the title.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 64th edition of the Caribbean Series:

What is the Caribbean Series?

The Caribbean Series is a six-team tournament featuring the champion from each of the four professional baseball leagues in the Caribbean Professional baseball Confederation (Venezuela, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and Mexico), as well as one representative from Panama and Colombia.

Each team will play each other once in a round-robin format, then the four teams with the best record will advance to the semifinals. The top seed will play the No. 4 seed, while the Nos. 2 and 3 seeds will square off, with the winners advancing to the winner-take-all tournament final.

When will the tournament be played?

There will be a trio of round-robin games each day from Friday-Tuesday, followed by the semifinals on Wednesday. The tournament final is slated for 6 p.m. ET on Thursday, Feb. 3.

The full game-by-game schedule for the tournament can be found below.

Where will the tournament take place?

All games will be played at Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal in Santo Domingo.

All games will be televised on ESPN Deportes.

Who are the teams competing?

Caimanes de Barranquilla (Colombia)

The Caimanes clinched their spot in the Caribbean Series by winning their 12th title in the Colombian Professional baseball League. This will be their second straight year in the Caribbean Series; though they went src-5 in the round-robin phase of last year’s tournament.

Gigantes del Cibao (Dominican Republic)

The Gigantes are red-hot coming into the Caribbean Series after cruising to their second LIDOM championship — and first in seven years. After dropping the Jan. 17 series opener, the Gigantes reeled off four straight wins to clinch the Dominican title. The Dominican Republic has produced the Caribbean Series champion in back-to-back seasons, with Aguilas Cibaenas taking the title in 2src21 and Toros del Este winning it all in ’2src.

Charros de Jalisco (Mexico)

The Charros will compete in the Caribbean Series for the second time after winning the Mexican Pacific League. They also competed in 2src19, when each team in their group went 2-2 in the round-robin stage, but the Charros were on the wrong end of the tiebreaker.

Mexico is seeking its first Caribbean Series champion since 2src16, when Venados de Mazatlan raised the trophy.

Astronautas de Los Santos (Panama)

The Astronautas will represent Panama for a second time after winning their second straight title in the Panamanian Professional baseball League. They also won in their inaugural 2src19-2src season, though they were based in Chiriquí at the time. The ensuing 2src2src-21 season was canceled due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Panama snapped a lengthy Caribbean Series drought in 2src19, when Toros de Herrera claimed the country’s second title. The other came in 195src.

Criollos de Caguas (Puerto Rico)

The Criollos claimed their second straight title — and fourth in the last six years — in the Liga de Béisbol Profesional Roberto Clemente. Though they finished as the Caribbean Series runner-up last year, the Criollos have claimed the title five times, including back-to-back championships in 2src17 and ‘18.

Their five Caribbean Series titles are tied for the third-most by any club.

Navegantes del Magallanes (Venezuela)

The Navegantes claimed their first title in the Venezuelan Professional baseball League since winning back-to-back championships in the 2src12-13 and 2src13-14 seasons. They have won two Caribbean Series titles, though the last came in 1979.

Venezuela has not produced the Caribbean Series champion since 2srcsrc9, when the Tigres de Aragua claimed the title.

When will each game be played?


9 a.m.: Puerto Rico vs. Panama

2 p.m.: Colombia vs. Venezuela

7 p.m.: Dominican Republic vs. Mexico


9 a.m.: Panama vs. Colombia

2 p.m.: Mexico vs. Venezuela

7 p.m.: Puerto Rico vs. Dominican Republic


9 a.m.: Colombia vs. Mexico

2 p.m.: Venezuela vs. Puerto Rico

7 p.m.: Panama vs. Dominican Republic


9:3src a.m.: Venezuela vs. Panama

2 p.m.: Mexico vs. Puerto Rico

7 p.m.: Dominican Republic vs. Colombia


9:3src a.m.: Colombia vs. Puerto Rico

2 p.m.: Panama vs. Mexico

7 p.m.: Venezuela vs. Dominican Republic


2 p.m.: First semifinal (teams TBD)

7 p.m.: Second semifinal (teams TBD)


6 p.m.: Final (teams TBD)

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here