Reminder: 12th Annual World MMA Awards air tonight on CBS Sports Network

Reminder: 12th Annual World MMA Awards air tonight on CBS Sports Network

The 12th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards broadcast debuts Saturday night on CBS sports Network at 9 p.m. ET.

While the ongoing covid-19 pandemic means the traditional black-tie ceremony has been scrapped this year, the fan-voted awards will still be issued during tonight’s hour-long broadcast, hosted by karate black belt and noted actor Dolph Lundgren.

“In an especially challenging year to uphold the annual tradition of the World MMA Awards, I am deeply grateful to Dolph Lundgren for hosting our show and working with our incredible production team so the great athletes in the sport of mixed martial arts can receive their well deserved night of honors and recognition,” said Rob Hewitt, CEO of Fighters Only. “The show will go on – as it has every year since 2008.”

This year’s awards were originally planed for July 8 in Las Vegas but were postponed due to the global virus outbreak. As a result, Fighters Only broadened the eligibility window for the upcoming awards to extend from Jan. 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020.

The Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year nominees include Henry Cejudo, Israel Adesanya, Justin Gaethje, Jorge Masvidal and Douglas Lima. Female Fighter of the Year finalists include Valentina Shevchenko, Zhang Weili, Kayla Harrison, Cris Cyborg and Amanda Nunes.

MMA Junkie (MMA Media Source of the Year), John Morgan (MMA Journalist of the Year) and Mike Bohn (MMA Journalist of the Year) were also finalists.

The Fighters Only World MMA Awards air as a part of an evening full of MMA programming on CBS sports Network, which will also feature replays of Bellator 253 and Bellator 254 on the night.

According to Fighters Only, a panel of MMA industry experts put together the list of award nominees, with fans selecting winners through an online voting process. That expansive list includes:

Henry Cejudo

Israel Adesanya

Justin Gaethje

Jorge Masvidal

Douglas Lima

Valentina Shevchenko

Zhang Weili

Kayla Harrison

Cris Cyborg

Amanda Nunes

Zhang Weili

Alexander Volkanovski

Gilbert Burns

Jorge Masvidal

Petr Yan

Zhang Weili

Kamaru Usman

Israel Adesanya

Valentina Shevchenko

Aung La N Sang

Zhang Weili vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk (UFC 248)

Kamaru Usman vs. Colby Covington (UFC 245)

Israel Adesanya vs. Kelvin Gastelum (UFC 236)

Dustin Poirier vs. Dan Hooker (UFC on ESPN 12)

Josh Emmett vs. Shane Burgos (UFC on ESPN 11)

Jorge Masvidal vs. Ben Askren (UFC 239)

Cody Garbrandt vs. Raphael Assuncao (UFC 250)

Anthony Pettis vs. Stephen Thompson (UFC on ESPN 6)

Sean O’Malley vs. Eddie Wineland (UFC 250)

Douglas Lima vs. Michael Page (Bellator 221)

Brent Primus vs. Tim Wilde (Bellator Europe 2)

Bryce Mitchell vs. Matt Sayles (UFC on ESPN 7)

Aviv Gozali vs. Eduard Muravitsky (Bellator 225)

Demian Maia vs. Ben Askren (UFC on ESPN+ 20)

Misha Cirkunov vs. Jimmy Crute (UFC on ESPN+ 16)

Stipe Miocic vs. Daniel Cormier (UFC 241)

Eddie Alvarez vs. Eduard Flayang (ONE Championship 99)

Jairzinho Rozenstruik vs. Alistair Overeem (UFC on ESPN 7)

Peter Queally vs. Ryan Scope (Bellator Europe 4)

Cody Garbrandt (career)

Alexander Volkanovski vs. Max Holloway (UFC 245)

Henry Corrales vs. Aaron Pico (Bellator 214)

Khama Worthy vs. Devonte Smith (UFC 241)

Kai Asakura vs. Kyoji Horiguchi (Rizin FF 18)

Timofey Nastyukhin vs. Eddie Alvarez (ONE Championship 92)

Eugene Bareman

Sayif Saud

Mike Brown

Trevor Wittman

Eric Albarracin

Andre Hicks (strength and conditioning)

Sunz Singh (strength and conditioning)

George Lockhart (nutrition)

Bo Sandoval (strength and conditioning)

Phil Daru (strength and conditioning)

Fortis MMA

Elevation Fight Team

Sanford MMA

American Top Team

American Kickboxing Academy

Herb Dean

Jason Herzog

Mike Beltran

Frank Trigg

Marc Goddard

Carly Baker

Jhenny Andrade

Louise McKie

Brittany Palmer

Mercedes Terell

Dana White (UFC)

Densign White (IMMAF)

Martin Lewandowski (KSW)

Nobuyuki Sakakibara (Rizin FF)

Scott Coker (Bellator)



ONE Championship



Jon Anik

Chael Sonnen

John McCarthy

The Schmo

Joe Rogan

Robin Black

Michael Bisping

Paul Felder

Daniel Cormier

Dan Hardy

Ariel Helwani’s MMA Show


UFC Embedded

Dana White’s Contender Series

Anatomy Of A Fighter



MMA Junkie

The Mac Life

The Athletic

John Morgan

Mike Bohn

Brett Okamoto

Ariel Helwani

Gareth Davies

Dustin Poirier (Good Fight Foundation)

Justin Wren (Fight for the Forgotten)

Robbie Lawler (How to take a loss)

Conor McGregor (PPE donation)

Walt Harris (Return to fighting)

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here